15:15 Concert series


Thorsteinn Hauksson – Portrait

Caput ensemble with soprano Marta Halldórsdóttir performs music by Icelandic composer Thorsteinn Hauksson at The 15:15 concert series at the Nordic House, on Sunday, February 7th at 15:15 pm.
Thorsteinn Hauksson (b. 1949), is a widely performed modern-classical composer of symphonic, instrumental, vocal, ballet and computer works. He received his training both as composer and as pianist at the Reykjavik Conservatory of Music and he continued his studies in instrumental and computer-aided composition at Stanford University and the University of Illinois. Hauksson has been a composer-in-residence or visiting scholar most notably at IRCAM, Paris; the EMS, Stockholm; the Centre of Contemporary Music Research (Athens); the Computer Music Studios at the University of Glasgow; Stanford University, California; the Church Music Festival at Skálholt, Iceland; and the Centre for Computer Music & Music Technology (CCMMT) at Kunitachi College of Music, Tokyo. Hauksson lives in Strasbourg, France and his music is very seldom played in Iceland.
Besides Hauksson’s music Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Gesang der Jünglinge (1955), perhaps the first masterpiece of electronic music will be heard in it‘s original spatial version.

The program:
Sextet (2000)
Bells of Earth I for carillon, percussion and computer sound (1994)
Psychomachia for soprano and cello (1987)
Cho for flute and computer sound (1992)
Karlheinz Stockhausen: Gesang der Jünglinge – Electronics (1955)
String-quartet One (World premiere – 2015)

The entrance is 2000kr and 1000kr for disabled, senior citizens and students.

Send this to a friend