Nordlyd quartet – Free concert


Nordlyd quartet – A Finnish celebration from a Nordic quartet.
1st of June / 20:00-21:00 / For free and open for all

In 2017 it is 100 years since Finland gained its independence. This is celebrated by the newly formed Nordlyd Quartet with a tour of all the Nordic countries with music by Jean Sibelius og Kaija Saariaho.

The quartet consists of four students from the Norwegian Academy of Music, and collaborates with Voksenåsen Summer Academy. The quartet’s name Nordlyd – Northern Sound – plays on the phenomenon of Nordlys – the Northern Lights, and reflects the origin of its members – Norway, Sweden and Finland.

The quartet explains: ‘The Northern Lights are a symbol for all the Nordic countries, and represent the quartet’s desire to combine traditional and newly composed music from those countries.’

Kaija Saariaho is currently guest professor in Oslo and instructs the quartet in rehearsals of Terra Memoria.

The project is a musical national gift by Voksenåsen to Finland in the event of the 100 years of independence, in cooperation with the Finnish-Norwegian culture institute in Oslo.

Nordlyd Quartet:

Aliisa Neige Barrière violin

Alexandra Peral violin

Ester Forsberg viola

Andreas Øhrn cello


Kaija Saariaho (1952- ) Terra Memoria for string quartet

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) Voces Intimæ for string quartet op. 56

Send this to a friend