Classics in the Moorland October


October 14
Scriabin – To the Fire
Jón Sigurðsson, piano

About the 2015 concert series
The aim of the series, Klassík í Vatnsmýrinni, is to give the audience a chance to hear the very best of Icelandic and foreign artists perform classical music.
As the year of 2015 marks 100 years anniversary of the Voting rights for Women in Iceland, so the female singer has been prominent in this seventh year‘s programming.
In October the Icelandic pianist Jón Sigurðsson performs a program with Alexander Scriabin’s piano compositions. At the final concert of this season the soprano Auður Gunnarsdóttir and pianist Helga Bryndís Magnúsdóttir will perform Frances Poulenc’s opera The Human Voice.
The concert series is a collaboration between the Icelandic Soloist Society and the Nordic House.
Management concert series is responsible for the implementation and planning as well as artistic direction. Concert Board members are: Kristin Mjöll Jakobsdóttir, Hlíf Sigurjónsdóttir and Anna Jónsdóttir.