Live-stream from Meet the Author series

Watch new and old live-stream events here


Meet the Author series at The Nordic House

The Nordic House is a central literary arena in Reykjavik. The Nordic House has a long tradition of organizing author events with current and exciting Nordic writers in the spring and autumn period. It is our goal to invite a broad spectrum of interesting and relevant authors to talk about their books and their authorship.

The Author’s night consists of one or several authors who, in conversation with a literary expert in a Scandinavian language, unfold their authorship and literary work. The audience is welcome to ask questions at the end of the talks. You can experience and reexperience Author’s nights through our Livestream channel.

In the spring of 2021, we will focus on social sustainability and ‘INTERUPTION’ in February. All our author evenings can be found on Live stream here.

In addition, we have started a Nordic reading circle, which you can get more information about here:

Since 2015, the following authors have visited the Nordic House, Reykjavik, as part of Meet the Author series:

Jens Andersen (DK), Einar Már Guðmundsson (IS – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize 1995), Camilla Plum (DK), Rawdna Carita Eira (NO-SAM), Kristina Sandberg (SE), Gaute Heivoll (NO), Åsne Seierstad (NO), Susanna Alakoski (SE), Viveca Sten (SE), Carsten Jensen (DK), Athena Farrokhzad (SE), Eríkur Örn Norðahl (IS), John Ajvide Lindqvist (SE), Katarina Frostenson (SE – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2016), Dorthe Nors (DK), Lars Mytting (NO), Kjell Westö (FINSE – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2014), Kim Leine (DK – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2013), Sørine Steenholdt (GR), Geir Guliksen (NO), Tom Buk-Swienty (DK), Vigdis Hjorth (NO), Sissal Kampmann (FÆR), Kirsten Thorup (DK – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2017), Merete Pryds Helle (DK), Josefine Klougart (DK), Erik Skyum-Nielsen (DK), Hanne-Vibeke Holst (DK), Kristín Steinsdóttir (IS), Sara Stridsberg (SE – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2007), Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir (IS – winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2018), Rosa Liksom (FI), Johannes Anyuru (SE),  Ásta Fanney Sigurðardóttir, Fríða Ísberg, Haukur Ingvarsson og Jón Örn Loðmfjörð (IS),  Pivinnguaq Mørch (GR), Pia Tafdrup (DK winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  1999), Tore Kvæven (NO), Thomas Espedal (NO), Turið Sigurðardóttir (FÆR)  and Theis Ørntoft (DK), Gunnar D. Hansson (SE),  Jonas Eika  winner of the Nordic Council´s Literature Prize  2019 (DK) og Isold Uggadóttir (IS), Hanne Højgaard Viemose (DK) og Kristín Eiríksdóttir (IS), Kristín Ómarsdottír (IS) og John Swedenmark (SE).